My life, my balance.

Wow, Jan 27, 2014 already!  Time has quickly gone by!  It is almost that time again, contest prep.  I have struggled with what to blog about over the last month and a half.  Do I want to blog about training?  Nutrition?  Motivation?  During my “bloggers block”  I have had a few people ask about my life and where it is.  People have asked what my current goals are and how I stay on track.  I have been asked about my balance between my kids, my husband and my training and my clients.  It has made me ponder a bit and has brought me to this blog.  How do I do it all?  I am no superwoman but I do it!  But how?  So here’s a little insight into my life as a mother, a trainer/coach, a wife and a competitor.

My day starts pretty much at 520AM.  It doesn’t matter if it is the weekend or my day off, I am up early.  In order to get all that I need done in a day and to balance it all I must be up early.  I make no excuses, I just get up and start my day.  I’m down the stairs in my kitchen in no time to make 2 pancakes, one for me, one for my hubby.  During my morning, I’m prepping meals for the day, making coffee, taking my BCAA’s and vitamins and cleaning up.  Yes, I do all this while I’m cooking my pancakes.  It’s routine, I just do it! While I eat I open my laptop and my txt msg’s and try to answer as many as I can before my kids get up.  This time is also a great time for me to watch the news and have a conversation with my hubby.   My kids don’t usually get up until 630AM and at the ages of 12 & 7 they are pretty independent.  That doesn’t mean I’m not yelling at them to get up but I don’t have to do everything for them now so that frees up time to get my day started. Once the girls are finished eating and lunches are made for them, we are all up the stairs to get ready for our day.

Out the door and off to school at 800AM.  I have one in junior high across town and the other in elementary, her school being closer but starting later.  It actually works out quite well.  I drop them both off and I’m off to the gym for 835AM.  2013 was a year of many clients and competition mode for me most of the year.  I always scheduled my workout around my clients.  I found some days to be a gong show of getting my workout done, being all sweaty and rushing to eat just to get to the next client.  In December of 2013, I made the decision to scale back some one on one personal training and to prioritize my training by scheduling my workouts at 845am -10am.  I had to.  It’s a big year for me going to the Nationals and I want to make sure I get all my training in for the day.  This only applies to the weekdays.  Weekends are mine.  I workout as early as 6AM to balance the weekend with my family.  Either way, I get it done early and out of the way to avoid the stress of trying to “fit” my workouts in.  It really did stress me out a bit so now that stress is avoided and I honestly feel way more balanced.

Once my workout is complete, I re-fuel with meal 2 which is my favorite meal of the day.  A combo of protein powder, peanut butter and oats all mixed into my famous “Protein Puck”.  I love this combo so much I have shared my recipe with all my clients, friends and family.  It’s a great balance of fast acting protein and carbs and fat!  All that I need to continue my day with my clients.  As I have said above I have scaled back some one on one personal training.  It was a choice I made to make room for my nutrition clients that are both in the gym and online and to continue to dabble into coaching.  I have found a real passion in helping others that want to manage their food intake.  Food matters!  It’s a big deal and I want to make a difference.  I still love to train others and push their limits, that will always be my passion.  However, having someone change their life for the health of it, restore confidence and focus on what the real issue is when it comes to food…that is rewarding.   I have found a real good balance between the one on one personal training and nutrition coaching so I am extremely happy at this point in my life.  My day pretty much consists of tweaking food, reviewing food journals, creating customize eating and training programs and ….grocery shopping, data entry for two businesses, cooking and prepping meals, laundry and picking my kids up from school and taking them to their extra curricular activities.  There is one major addition I have made to my life and that is my wonderful cleaning lady.  I’m so much like my mom in that I need a clean and organized home.  Now most will come to my home and say how beautiful it is but it’s the tiny little things like deep cleaning bathrooms and dusting that I just have no time for.  I have found I don’t have as much time for it.  My hubby supported me in hiring someone and I have found a wonderful lady who is a future competitor and a wonderful person that does a beautiful job of cleaning my house.  This has added to my balance.  I walk in and my house is clean and tidy.  It’s a relief and I recommend those who struggle with trying to do it all to find an outlet and let others help you.  Heather, from Leave it to Lily, has been a great investment and I wouldn’t change it!  Love ya Heather!

My day at the gym is done at 2pm or 3pm depending on clients.  I have already managed to fit in meal 3 and ready to eat again at 4pm.  My girls are usually in the pantry at this time too having an after school snack.  YES!  My kids snack.  Both kids are pretty active, especially Maddy who plays ball 5 days per week.  I let my kids snack on what they like. I don’t force them to eat what I like but I do know that my pantry has quick little processed  snacks for them but also know that there is plenty of healthy food in the fridge.  They usually balance both.  Brooklyn loves yogurt and smores crackers and Maddy is a cheese and cracker, peanut butter and banana kind of kid who even asks for the occasional protein puck!  I don’t worry about my girls.  They don’t eat chocolate bars, cakes, ice cream and candies.  If they do, they ask and they eat them in moderation and usually as a treat.  We are not hot dog and hamburger people either.  Fast food has become quite scarce in my house.  On occasion I may order a pizza for them but its rare.  I usually make homemade healthy versions.  Eating out is left for one day per week and it is usually Saturdays, especially in the off-season.  Once I start prep it is actually a benefit for all of us.  The girls and Corey don’t usually eat out and if they decide to order food in it is rare.   We usually all wait until my coach sends me on a cheat for us to go out.  I don’t ask for that, my family is just supportive that way.  I love them for that.  I will still go out with them if we are out and about in the city but I always have my food prepped and with me so that never ever becomes an issue or a temptation.

After school is a time for me to sit and chat with the girls or it’s a time for me to finish off some client programs or I am prepping food.   If the girls are not playing basketball they are outside with friends or downstairs dancing.  They are always doing something which gives me time to continue to do stuff for my clients and for the family.

Corey is away a lot or he just works too much.  I have found balance here.  It’s never an issue with him working out-of-town.  Its been our life for a while now so there are no excuses.  I am an independent person to begin with.  I can mow lawns, wash my truck, shovel the driveway.  He’s needed oh yes!  However, I still manage the household when he’s away.  I still workout, cook and prep food and manage the household and kids.  No excuse.  It’s what our life is so I have found balance.  The girls help out a lot so again it provides some relief and support which I appreciate so much.  If Corey is home, I stretch my meal 5 out to eat with him at 6-630pm.  It’s a great time to talk as the girls have already had their dinner.  I usually make them something for just before.  They can’t always wait to eat and he doesn’t expect them too either.  Gone are the days of all of us eating at the same time.  We try but it rarely works out.  Saturdays are usually the day that we spend dinner together.  For the most part it is a meal out so we can enjoy the atmosphere of living life.  It’s important to me that we do regardless of my contest prep or not.  I don’t ask my family to arrange their life or needs around mine.  If I did, it would create dismay.  The decision to compete is mine, not theirs.  The decision to be disciplined and focused, to have goals and reach my finish line is mine not theirs.  I don’t think I would have come this far if I had asked my family to sacrifice.  If they want to travel, I will.  If they want to eat out, I will.  I manage my life and I sacrifice. Although, to me it’s never a sacrifice.  This has become my lifestyle.  A lifestyle that is manageable and rewarding.  I wouldn’t change it for anything.  My family, they have become so understanding.  It has not always been that way but I believe they see just how important my contests and personal training has become to me.  My passion and my discipline and focus speak for me.

Rambling on…my evenings usually consist of basketball,  homework with the girls and bedtime for them around 830pm.  Maddy is older and tends to stay up but doesn’t really bother us.  I am finally sitting down to enjoy my last meal of the day around 830-9pm and honestly watching TV for the first time that day.  It’s usally 1 hr and lights out for me.  1030pm is late when you are up at 520AM each and everyday.   My phone is usually switched to do not disturb around 8pm but on for those who I am coaching or for those who need me in that moment.  I keep myself accessible for reasons most don’t understand.  I do get a lot of msgs and its sometimes tough to put my phone down but I must in order to balance my life with my passion.  I always get back to my clients, just sometimes I wait til the next “business” day just like everyone else.

It seems pretty simple my life.  It can be hectic.  I yell and scream at my kids and my hubby.  I have bad days and sick days.  I have great days and rest days.  I am human.  I am not superwoman but I am a mom who has pure passion for what I do.  I now believe more than ever you must walk your talk, especially in the fitness industry.   I practice everyday what I preach.  I get better each day and I learn from the days that I have fallen.  I give no excuses, I just set my sights on my goals and I follow thru.

I lost my mom 3 years ago.  It seems like just yesterday.  When my mom passed away all that was negative in my life also died with her.   It seems really awful when I say that but those who knew me then see what a different person I have become.  I was with my mom when she died.  Watching my mom slowly die was something that I will never forget.  In that moment she taught me that life is too short.  Life is precious.  Life must go on.  The negative that I held in that moment went with her but in that moment I know that is what created the fire within me to find a passion to live for.  As much as I wish she were here with me today, I thank her for that lesson on life.  Live…Live and live with passion.  Believe, believe that you can.  Dream, dream to be something bigger and better.  Do for you and just be happy.

I hope I have given you some insight as to what my life is like.  I’m just like you.  What makes me different?  I live with passion.  I love what I do.  I see myself and know that I am a work in progress.  I see myself and know that I am enough.  I am confident, I am strong.

Live with passion and believe….xoxo

About motivateandbfit

Nutrition Coach focusing on understanding macronutrients and how to count macros. Offering online training programs when needed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

